Watch Historians Edward Ayers and Natalie Zemon Davis Receive National Humanities Medal

For those who may have missed the 2012 National Medals of Arts and Humanities ceremony, the White House Blog has just posted video of the ceremony on their YouTube channel.  Watch below to see historians Edward L. Ayers and Natalie Zemon Davis receive medals for their outstanding contributions to the field of history.

Of course, Ayers and Zemon Davis are not the only medal recipients. For a full list of recipients for the National Medals of Arts and the National Humanities Medals, see below:

2012 National Medal of Arts

  • Herb Alpert
  • Lin Arison
  • Joan Myers Brown
  • Renée Fleming
  • Ernest J. Gaines
  • Ellsworth Kelly
  • Tony Kushner
  • George Lucas
  • Elaine May
  • Laurie Olin
  • Allen Toussaint
  • Washington Performing Arts Society, Washington, DC


2012 National Humanities Medal

  • Edward L. Ayers
  • William G. Bowen
  • Jill Ker Conway
  • Natalie Zemon Davis
  • Frank Deford
  • Joan Didion
  • Robert Putnam
  • Marilynne Robinson
  • Kay Ryan
  • Robert B. Silvers
  • Anna Deavere Smith
  • Camilo José Vergara
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Digg thisShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someonePrint this pagePin on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Tumblr

Back to Top

Leave a Reply


* Required field