Grant of the Week: Frederic W. Ness Book Award

Every week, AHA Today showcases a new grant, fellowship, or scholarship of interest to historians which has been posted to our free Calendar. This week we are featuring the Frederic W. Ness Book Award from the AAC&U. 

Each year, the Frederic W. Ness Book Award Committee of the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U) recognizes a book that contributes to the understanding and improvement of liberal education at the college level

AAC&U’s Board of Directors established the Ness Book Award in 1979 to honor Frederic W. Ness, who served with distinction for many years as president of AAC&U. The award, $2,000, has become a mark of honor for both authors and publishers and will be presented at the association’s annual meeting in January 2019.

To qualify for the award, a book must have been published between April 1, 2017 and March 31, 2018; additional criteria for eligibility are available by following this link.

We invite you to nominate any book that meets the stated criteria by sending a letter to the Frederic W. Ness Book Award Committee, 1818 R Street, NW, Washington, DC 20009. Or, please e-mail your nomination to Halim Rizk at Nominations must be received no later than May 1, 2018. The committee reserves the right to make no award in a given year.

End: May 1, 2018
More Info:

Back to Top

Leave a Reply


* Required field