Author Archives: AHA

About AHA

The American Historical Association (AHA) is a nonprofit membership organization founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies. The AHA provides leadership for the profession, protects academic freedom, develops professional standards, aids in the pursuit and publication of scholarship, and supplies various services to sustain and enhance the work of its members. The association’s principal functions fall within four realms: publication, teaching, advocacy, and networking. As the largest historical society in the United States, the AHA serves historians representing every historical period and geographical area. The nearly 14,000 members include academics at universities, two- and four-year colleges, museums, historical organizations, libraries and archives, but also independent historians, students, K–12 teachers, government and business professionals, and countless people who, whatever their profession, possess an abiding interest in history.


What We’re Reading: January 9, 2014

Today’s What We’re Reading features thoughts on how film can make a historian’s work better, a summary of the “relevance of history” forum, the Redskins controversy reemerges from an unlikely source, LOL my Thesis, and much more!

AHA Seal

Recruiting Reviewers for Journal Articles

The Research Division has become aware that some scholarly journals in history are attaching full copies of articles when initially contacting potential peer reviewers.

AHA Seal

Results of 2013 AHA Election

The Nominating Committee of the American Historical Association, chaired by Raúl A. Ramos (University of Houston), announces the results of the 2013 balloting for officers and members of elected committees.

AHA Seal

Suspicious E-mails Targeting Scholars

The AHA Professional Division urges members to be aware of an increasingly common suspicious email targeting scholars in a variety of disciplines.